Close this search box.

Faculty Honored with Inaugural Awards for Excellence

The Faculty Awards Committee has announced the recipients of the Burrell College of Osteopathic Medicine’s inaugural Faculty Awards for Excellence in Research, Service and Teaching.

“Burrell faculty work tirelessly to provide our students with a top medical education experience,” says Vanessa De La Rosa, PhD, chair of the Faculty Awards Committee. “In the whirlwind of meetings, teaching, service, research and office hours, these awards provide an opportunity for faculty to show appreciation for their colleagues.”

Faculty members were nominated by fellow faculty and subsequently submitted portfolios for the Faculty Awards Committee to review. Multiple nominations were received, and after careful review, three awardees were selected.

In recognition of their achievements and for fostering excellence at the college, each recipient will receive $1,000 in faculty development funds. They will also now serve as members of the Faculty Awards Committee.

The inaugural faculty recipients are:

Debra BramblettExcellence in Research: Debra Bramblett, PhD

Dr. Bramblett led the effort to pursue and ultimately receive one of the first extramural grant awards in Burrell College’s history and has been a steady contributor to the advancement of research at Burrell. She is never afraid to propose new research ideas.


Steven OntiverosExcellence in Service: Steven Ontiveros, PhD

Dr. Ontiveros’ many accomplishments embrace and serve our mission. His extensive record of service within our institution, and his external work which has and continues to benefit and uplift the lives of so many in our college and in our local and regional communities.


David RodenbaughExcellence in Teaching: David Rodenbaugh, PhD

Dr. Rodenbaugh has been a leader in Team Based Learning, having developed and mentored faculty groups and created novel applications within the TBL framework. He is constantly reflecting on classroom experiences and student learning outcomes.



This year’s Faculty Awards Committee members were Vanessa De La Rosa, PhD, (chair); Gabor Szalai, PhD; Jon Jackson, PhD; Norice Lee, MLIS; and Kris Vaudrey, MS. Jeremy Taulbee served as the Student Affairs representative.