Close this search box.

Regional Academic Centers

Regional Academic Centers Sites


Burrell College of Osteopathic Medicine has developed a clinical education network with hospitals, medical centers, Federally-Qualified Health Centers as well as practicing physicians (to serve as clinical faculty) in New Mexico, Texas, Arizona, and Florida. This network will support a comprehensive selection of generalist and specialty clinical clerkship experiences for third and fourth year medical students as well as providing the basic infrastructure for graduate medical education development.

Currently, Burrell College of Osteopathic Medicine has facilitated the ongoing graduate medical education (GME) development of new residency programs in family medicine, internal medicine, orthopedic surgery, and osteopathic neuromusculoskeletal. Additional new GME programs are under development.

Primary Teaching Hospitals, Medical Centers, and Clinics

The healthcare organizations listed below are collaborative clinical education partners with Burrell College of Osteopathic Medicine. There are seven main Regional Academic Centers (RACs) for third-and-fourth year rotations, including: 1) Albuquerque, NM 2) Eastern NM, 3) El Paso, Texas 4) Las Cruces, NM and 5) Tucson, AZ 6) Space Coast, FL 7) Four Corners, NM. Per regulation, the El Paso (TX) RAC has a capacity limit and at least 90% of students assigned to the El Paso (TX) RAC must be residents of Texas or Dona Ana County (NM) as identified on the AACOMAS application. In each RAC, the College’s students will experience immersion in both medical centers and integrating experiences within community care clinics. It is this type of immersion that will provide an excellent and challenging environment for clerkship training.